Bovada USA

Mumbai Indians Team IPL 2022

Get all information about MI in IPL 2022 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Mumbai Indians Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians is the top most team of the IPL with 5 title wins so far. Mumbai Indians has played 5 finals and has won 4 out of them. The team is owned by India's largest conglomerate, Reliance Industries.

After IPL 2021, Mumbai Indians retained skipper Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard who all have been strong pillars behind the team's success.

Mumbai Indians have cracked the most expensive deal in the IPL mega auction by signing Ishan Kishan for INR 15.25 crore.

Mumbai Indians won the tournament in 2019 and 2020 but came up well short in 2021. They didn’t even make the play-offs as they were kept out of the top four on net-run-rate.

Mumbai Indians Team Information

Full Name Mumbai Indians
Short Name MI
Founded 2008
Owners Reliance Industries
Official Website
Captain Rohit Sharma
Head Coach Mahela Jayawardene
Home Ground Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)
Team Information

MI Team Information

Despite a poor season in 2021, Mumbai Indians have kept faith with some of their most experienced players ahead of this season.

Jasprit Bumrah had a slow start to last year’s IPL but ended up in third place in the wicket takers list. He has taken 119 wickets across the last six seasons and will lead the attack again.

Once again Mumbai Indians will be captained by Rohit Sharma with Mahela Jayawardene the head coach 

Squad changes

MI Squad changes

A lack of runs was the main issue for Mumbai Indians in 2021 with openers Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock both averaging only 29. Sharma was one of the retained players with de Kock moving on.

There has been plenty of change in the bowling attack with only Jasprit Bumrah and Arjun Tendulkar remaining from the 2021 squad.

Englishman Tymal Mills and Australian Riley Meredith will both provide accurate pace bowling as well as plenty of T20 experience to the side.

MI team key players

  • Captain – Rohit Sharma: Although it has been five successive seasons without the skipper averaging over 30 in the IPL, his importance to the team at the top of the order and as a leader can not be underestimated. He hit only one half-century last year and will be looking to rectify this early in the tournament.

  • Jasprit Bumrah: Only Harshal Patel and Avesh Khan took more wickets than Bumrah during the 2021 IPL. If he can replicate his 2020 season where he took 27 wickets at an average of 14.96 then that will go a long way to a successful campaign for Mumbai Indians.

  • Tymal Mills: The English left-arm pace bowler has enjoyed a remarkable comeback to the top level over recent seasons. Although he is a brilliant strike-bowler, his injury record is still a worry and he will have to be well managed throughout the tournament.

  • Ishan Kishan: The 23-year old keeper-batter was another player for Mumbai Indians who saw a real dip in their form in 2021. This season he will be the undisputed wicket-keeper and will be looking to add to his nine half-centuries in the IPL.

IPL 2022 MI Team Squad

Batsmen Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Dewald Brevis, Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh
All Rounders Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Daniel Sams, Tim David, Hrithik Shokeen, Fabian Allen
Bowlers Jasprit Bumrah, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat, Murugan Ashwin, Mayank Markande, Tymal Mills, Riley Meredith, Jofra Archer, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan
Wicket-keepers Ishan Kishan, Aryan Juyal

Mumbai Indians Retained Players 2022

Rohit Sharma Rs 16 Crore, Jasprit Bumrah Rs 12 Crore, Suryakumar Yadav Rs 8 Crore, Kieron Pollard Rs 6 Crore

Mumbai Indians Riders Players IPL 2022

Dewald Brevis Rs 3 Crore, Anmolpreet Singh Rs 20 Lakh, Rahul Buddhi Rs 20 Lakh, Tilak Varma Rs 1.7 Crore, Ramandeep Singh Rs 20 Lakh, Sanjay Yadav Rs 50 Lakh, Daniel Sams Rs 2.6 Crore, Tim David Rs 8.25 Crore, Hrithik Shokeen Rs 20 Lakh, Fabian Allen Rs 75 Lakh, Ishan Kishan Rs 15.25 Crore, Aryan Juyal Rs 20 Lakh, Basil Thampi Rs 30 Lakh, Jaydev Unadkat Rs 1.3 Crore, Murugan Ashwin Rs 1.6 Crore, Mayank Markande Rs 65 Lakh, Tymal Mills Rs 1.5 Crore, Riley Meredith Rs 1 Crore, Jofra Archer Rs 8 Crore, Arjun Tendulkar Rs 30 Lakh, Arshad Khan Rs 20 Lakh

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for MI

We Predict MI to Finish as Champions

After last seasons’ under-par performances, we expect the key players for Mumbai Indians to stand up and take them all the way this year.

Bowling has always been a strength of the side and if the batters can rise to the occasion then they will be very hard to beat in IPL 2022.

Can MI Win IPL 2022?

Betway have Mumbai Indians as joint favourites at 6.00 to lift their sixth IPL trophy. Bet365 have Mumbai Indians out on their own at 5.50 to win the tournament.

MI Match Schedule IPL 2022

Date Match Time (IST) Venue
March 27, 2022 Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians 15:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 2, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals 15:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 6, 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 9, 2022 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 13, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 16, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Super Giants 15:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 21, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 24, 2022 Lucknow Super Giants vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
April 30, 2022 Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 6, 2022 Gujarat Titans vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
May 9, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 12, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 17, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 21, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals 19:30 Wankhede Stadium