Bovada USA

Gujarat Titans (GT) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2024

Get all information about GT in IPL 2024 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Gujarat Titans About Gujarat Titans Team (GT)

Gujarat Titans have been impressive since the day they stepped into the league in 2022. Their debut season was phenomenal as they lifted the trophy in that season under the leadership of Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya. In their 2nd IPL season in 2023, they played brilliantly one more time and finished as the runners-up.

In a big move before the IPL auction 2024, GT traded their skipper Hardik Pandya to Mumbai Indians and appointed the young Indian batter Shubman Gill as the captain of the side for the 2024 edition.

Gujarat Titans Team Information

Full Name Gujarat Titans
Short Name GT
Founded 2022
Owners CVC Capital Partners
Official Website
Captain Shubman Gill
Head Coach Ashish Nehra
Home Ground Narendra Modi Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Best Performance In IPL Champions 2022
Team Information

GT Team Information

Gujarat Titans is owned by CVC Capital Partners and this is the second team to represent Gujarat after Gujarat Lions in 2016 and 2017. The biggest cricket stadium in the world - Narendra Modi Stadium serves as the home ground of this team.

Along with Pandya, GT has also released Yash Dayal, Shivam Mavi, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph and Dasun Shanaka. Among the new signings, they have roped in Shahrukh Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Kartik Tyagi, Umesh Yadav, Manav Suthar, Robin Minz and Sushant Mishra.

In a big blow to the GT, their frontline pacer Mohammed Shami has been ruled out of the IPL 2024 season due to injury.

IPL 2024 GT Team Squad

Batsmen David Miller, Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Wriddhiman Saha, Robin Minz, Kane Williamson
All Rounders Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Darshan Nalkande, Vijay Shankar, Azmatullah Omarzai, Shahrukh Khan
Bowlers Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Kartik Tyagi, Sushant Mishra, Spencer Johnson, Noor Ahmad, Sai Kishore, Umesh Yadav, Rashid Khan, Joshua Little, Mohit Sharma, Manav Suthar
Wicket-keepers Matthew Wade, Wriddhiman Saha

GT team key players

  • Shubman Gill:Shubman Gill finished the last season as the highest run scorer of the season with 890 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 157.8. All eyes will be on him as he prepares himself to lead an IPL team for the first time.

  • Wriddhiman Saha: The wicket-keeper batter has been an impressive player in this format. He scored 371 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 129.26. Saha is a reliable batter for GT at the top-order and he has a vast experience of 161 IPL matches in which he has scored 2798 runs.

  • Mohit Sharma:Mohit Sharma was brilliant in the last season as he picked 27 wickets in 14 matches. He will be the leading pacer of the team in the absence of Shami. Sharma has taken 119 wickets in 100 IPL matches.

  • Noor Ahmad: The young spinner from Afghanistan gained a lot of attention in the last year for his performance. He picked 16 wickets in 13 games and provided the required support to his teammate Rashid Khan.

  • Rashid Khan: Rashid Khan is a player of all seasons. He was on a long break since the ODI World Cup 2023 due to back injury but he looks fit to join the GT camp for the IPL 2024. Rashid Khan picked 27 wickets in 17 matches last season and was the joint-second highest wicket taker for the team.

Squad changes

GT Squad Changes

Take a look at the updated list of retained and released players along with new signings by Gujarat Titans for the IPL 2024 season.

Gujarat Titans Retained Players IPL 2024

David Miller, Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Wriddhiman Saha, Kane Williamson, Abhinav Manohar, B Sai Sudharsan, Darshan Nalkande, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad, R Sai Kishore, Rashid Khan, Josh Little, Mohit Sharma

Gujarat Titans Released Players IPL 2024

Hardik Pandya, Yash Dayal, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Pradeep Sangwan, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Dasun Shanaka

Gujarat Titans New Signings IPL 2024

Azmatullah Omarzai, Kartik Tyagi, M Shahrukh Khan, Manav Suthar, Robin Minz, Sushant Mishra, Umesh Yadav

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for GT

Just when Gujarat Titans were trying to fill the void left by Hardik Pandya, they were hit with a bigger one, Mohammed Shami. The absence of both the players will be difficult to overcome for the GT side.

They have a good range of bowlers from pacers to spinners but they lack in all-rounders section. Designated all-rounders Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan and Vijay Shankar need to step up and pitch in with the ball as well now. Afghanistan’s pacer all-rounder Azmatullah Omarzai is expected to fill in Pandya’s shoes but in this scenario he will have a lot of expectations on his shoulders in his debut IPL season.

Can GT Win IPL 2024?

Gujarat Titans have been an impressive team from day 1 and you can never write them off easily. They still possess some of the best power-hitters like David Miller, Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade and Kane Williamson. Young talent Shahrukh Khan, Sai Sudharsan, Abhinav Manohar are also ready to pitch in as we have seen the last two going strong in the last season.

GT’s match-winner Rahul Tewatia will also be a key player for the team as he has been in the past.

With this quality of squad even after Shami’s absence, GT can achieve any heights and we are expecting them to advance to the playoffs after which they can try to reach the finals for the 3rd time in a row.

Table of Content