Bovada USA

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2024

Get all information about KKR in IPL 2024 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

About Kolkata Knight Riders Team (KKR)

Kolkata Knight Riders has won the IPL trophy twice in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir and he is now back to the KKR camp as the team mentor. KKR has made some big changes in the squad by picking 10 new players in the IPL auction 2024 including the biggest ever deal of the IPL.

In the absence of Shreyas Iyer, Nitish Rana led the team in the last season and under him, the team finished at the 7th spot with 6 wins in 14 matches. Iyer is now fit to play IPL this year and he has been in good touch since the ODI World Cup 2023.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Information

Full Name Kolkata Knight Riders
Short Name KKR
Founded 2008
Owners Shahrukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta
Official Website
Captain Shreyas Iyer
Head Coach Chandrakant Pandit
Home Ground Eden Gardens
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2012,2014)
Team Information

KKR Team Information

Kolkata Knight Riders is owned by bollywood actors Shahrukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and her husband and businessman Jay Mehta. After winning their last title in 2014, they reached the finals in the 2021 season but lost to CSK in the final match.

The last edition was decent for the KKR but they look stronger than before for the upcoming season. KKR went an extra mile to shell out INR 24.75 crore to rope in Australian pacer Mitchell Starc. With the deal, he becomes the most expensive player in the history of IPL.

KKR also had the heroic moment of the 2023 edition when batter Rinku Singh smashed 5 sixes in the final over against Gujarat Titans’ bowler Yash Dayal. Rinku Singh has gained a lot of popularity and a spot in the playing 11 for the national team as well.

IPL 2024 KKR Team Squad

Batsmen Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shreyas Iyer, Sherfane Rutherford, KS Bharat, Manish Pandey, Jason Roy, Angkrish Raghuvanshi
All Rounders Anukul Roy, Ramandeep Singh, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer
Bowlers Suyash Sharma, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Gus Atkinson, Sakib Hussain, Harshit Rana, Sunil Narine, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, Mitchell Starc, Chetan Sakariya

KKR team key players

  • Nitish Rana - Nitish Rana was in brilliant form in the last edition when he also led the team. Rana scored 413 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 140.95. He is a key-player in the middle-order and we are expecting another good season from him.

  • Rinku Singh - As mentioned above, Rinku Singh gave us the heroic innings of the IPL 2023 edition when he hit 5 sixes in the final over. He was in great form the whole season and played the role of a finisher quite well. He was the leading run scorer from KKR with 474 runs at an average of 59.25.

  • Andre Russell - Andre Russell has been a go-to all-rounder for KKR for a long time now and they have shown faith in him by retaining him one more time. Russell has accumulated 2262 runs in IPL and he is just 4 wickets away from completing the 100-wicket mark.

  • Mitchell Starc - KKR’s and IPL’s biggest ever deal, Mitchell Starc will step into the IPL 2024 as a key pacer for the team. He will be playing in the IPL after a long break but he has been in great form throughout the 2023 with some notable performances in Ashes and ODI World Cup.

  • Varun Chakaravarthy - Varun Chakaravarthy was a gold mine for KKR when they found him. He made a breakthrough in his 2nd year in IPL in 2020 when he picked 17 wickets in 13 matches and then there was no looking back. Now he has picked 62 wickets in 56 IPL matches and will be a key spin bowler for the team.

Squad changes

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Squad Changes 2024

Take a look at the updated list of retained and released players by Kolkata Knight Riders for the IPL 2024 season.

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players IPL 2024

Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Jason Roy, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer

Kolkata Knight Riders Released Players IPL 2024

Aarya Desai, David Wiese, Johnson Charles, Kulwant Khejroliya, Litton Das, Lockie Ferguson, Mandeep Singh, N. Jagadeesan, Shakib Al Hasan, Shardul Thakur, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for KKR

KKR can qualify for the playoffs

KKR has roped in 10 players from the auction 2024 and they were some smart purchases. The pace attack looks strong with addition of Starc and Gus Atkinson and Mujeeb ur Rahman has been roped in to strengthen the spin attack with Varun Chakaravarthy. We can say that this KKR squad looks quite strong and they can certainly qualify for the playoffs.

Can KKR Win IPL 2024?

KKR last reached the finals in the 2021 edition and with our analysis, we can say that the KKR squad for the upcoming season looks better than the 2021 squad.

Kolkata Knight Riders - Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who is the coach of the Kolkata Knight Riders?

  • Who owns Kolkata Knight Riders?

  • How many times Kolkata Knight Riders won IPL?

  • Who is the IPL winner captain of IPL?

    IPL won both the 2012 and 2014 seasons under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir who is currently the head coach of the Lucknow Super Giants team.

Table of Content