Bovada USA

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2024

Get all information about CSK in IPL 2024 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

About Chennai Super Kings Team (CSK)

CSK are the defending champions as they lifted the trophy in the 2023 edition. They defeated Gujarat Titans in the final match and won their 5th IPL title to equal the record with Mumbai Indians for the most successful IPL team. CSK’s success also covers their 5 runner-up titles other than the title wins. A large chunk of the credit for CSK’s success goes to the captain MS Dhoni who has been part of the franchise since 2008.

CSK’s popularity has increased widely over the years due to their success in IPL and Dhoni at the front. A yellow wave was seen in almost all the venues where CSK played in the 2023 edition.

CSK has made some changes to their squad to prepare for the upcoming 2024 edition of IPL. Let’s take a look at the detailed information on the CSK team.

Chennai Super Kings Team Information

Full Name Chennai Super Kings
Short Name CSK
Founded 2008
Owners India Cements
Official Website
Captain MS Dhoni
Head Coach Stephen Fleming
Home Ground MA Chidambaram Stadium
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2010,2011,2018,2021,2023)

CSK Team Information

Chennai Super Kings is a Chennai based IPL team which is owned by India Cements. MS Dhoni has been captaining the CSK team since the start of the IPL in 2008 and former New Zealand player Stephen Fleming is the head coach.

As Dhoni is nearing his retirement from the IPL, the team management is on a hunt to find the best candidates to lead the side after him. They tried to go with Ravindra Jadeja but it did not work out well for the team and also took a toll on his performance which is why he stepped down from the captaincy.

IPL 2023 CSK Team Squads

Batsmen MS Dhoni, Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Sameer Rizvi, Avanish Rao Aravelly
All Rounders Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Santner, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Nishant Sindhu, Ajay Mandal, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Shardul Thakur
Bowlers Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mukesh Choudhary, Mustafizur Rahman, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Tushar Deshpande, Matheesha Pathirana

CSK Team key players

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad - Gaikwad has cemented his opening spot in the CSK batting line-up. He is also touted as the top contender for the CSK captaincy after Dhoni. Gaikwad has scored 1797 runs in 52 IPL matches at a strike rate of 135.52.

  • Moeen Ali - England’s spin all-rounder has the ability to chip in with both bat and ball. He has been a key all-rounder for CSK and will remain so. He has scored 1034 runs and picked 33 wickets so far in 59 IPL matches.

  • Daryl Mitchell - We are well aware of CSK’s obsession with the all-rounders. Just when Punjab Kings were set to rope in New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, CSK jumped in and shelled out INR 14 crore for the all-rounder. Mitchell is a power-hitter and can also be a handy pacer as well. This could be his first ever full IPL season campaign and we are backing him as a key player.

  • Ravindra Jadeja - Ravindra Jadeja was the hero of the IPL 2023 final as he hit a six and a four off the last 2 deliveries in the final match and handed GT a defeat. He has been a key all-rounder for the team and has picked good success on the CSK home ground. Jadeja has scored 2692 runs and took 152 wickets in 226 IPL matches.

  • Deepak Chahar - Deepak Chahar has picked 72 wickets in 73 IPL matches. He missed the 2022 edition due to injury but came back with a bang in the last edition picking 13 wickets in 10 matches. Deepak Chahar provides reliable bowling in the powerplay and also tends to pick early wickets.

CSK Squad changes

Take a look at the updated list of retained and released players by Chennai Super Kings for the IPL 2024 season.

Chennai Super Kings Retained Players IPL 2024

Ajay Mandal, Ajinkya Rahane, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Mitchell Santner, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni, Mukesh Choudhary, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shaik Rasheed, Shivam Dube, Simarjeet Singh, Tushar Deshpande

Chennai Super Kings Released Players IPL 2024

Akash Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Ben Stokes, Bhagath Varma, Dwaine Pretorius, Kyle Jamieson, Sisanda Magala, Subhranshu Senapati

Expert Prediction for CSK

Chennai Super Kings can advance to playoffs

CSK are the reigning champions and they have strengthened the squad with some new additions along with the key players from last season. MS Dhoni is expected to lead the team for another season and with him at the front no one can write off CSK.

Can CSK Win IPL 2024?

CSK will go down into the next season as the season favourites. With the recruitment of 2 more Kiwis into the side, the squad looks complete and ready to fight. With MS Dhoni at the helm, CSK always has a chance of lifting another IPL trophy.

Chennai Super Kings - Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who is the owner of Chennai Super Kings?

  • Why Chennai Super Kings banned?

  • How many times Chennai Super Kings won IPL?

  • How many times CSK played IPL final?

    CSK has played 9 IPL finals so far out of which they won 4 times and lost 5.

  • Will Dwayne Bravo play IPL 2023?

    CSK has released Dwayne Bravo ahead of the IPL 2023 season. Although he hasn’t announced any retirement from the league so he might be available in the upcoming IPL auction.

  • Who is the new captain of Chennai Super Kings in 2023?

Table of Content

Apr 19, 2024 - Upcoming/Today's Match Prediction

LSG vs CSK Today Match Prediction & Live Odds - IPL 2024

Apr 19, 2024 | 19:30:00, GMT +5:30

Ekana Cricket Stadium - Lucknow, India