Bovada USA

Rajasthan Royals (RR) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2024

Get all information about RR in IPL 2024 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Rajasthan RoyalsAbout Rajasthan Royals Team (RR)

Rajasthan Royals was the winner of the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008 but this is the only title they have won so far. In the 2022 edition, Rajasthan Royals finished as the runner-up team and in the last season they missed the playoffs by just 1 win.

They have regained their form as a team from the last 2 seasons with the likes of Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shimron Hetmyer, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal by their side. For a long time they have been under-performing but we consider them a strong side now.

Rajasthan Royals Team Information

Full Name Rajasthan Royals
Short Name RR
Founded 2008
Owners Manoj Badale (Emerging Media) (65%), Lachlan Murdoch (13%), RedBird Capital Partners (15%)
Official Website
Captain Sanju Samson
Head Coach Trevor Penney
Home Ground Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2008)
Team Information

RR Team Information

Rajasthan Royals is owned by The Royals Sports Group who owns various other teams in different leagues like Barbados Royals in CPL and Paarl Royals in SA20. Sanju Samson was appointed the captain of Rajasthan Royals in 2021 and under his captaincy the team is performing well so far.

Sri Lankan veteran player Kumar Sangakkara has been associated with the franchise for a long time now and he will be the head coach once again.

They roped in West Indies power hitter Rovman Powell in the IPL auction along with all-rounder Tom Kohler-Cadmore to strengthen the line-up.

IPL 2023 RR Team Squad

Batsmen Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Kunal Rathore, Donovan Ferreira, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore
All Rounders Ravichandran Ashwin, Abid Mushtaq
Bowlers Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Sen, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Nandre Burger
Wicket-keepers Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Dhruv Jurel, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore

RR team key players

  • Jos Buttler: Jos Buttler has a vast experience of IPL as he is just 4 matches away from completing 100 matches. In 96 games he has scored 3223 runs at an aggressive strike rate of 148.32. In the 2022 edition he scored 863 runs in 17 matches.

  • Yashasvi Jaiswal: Yashasvi Jaiswal was the highest run scorer for RR in 2023. He smashed 625 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 163.61 which included 5 half-centuries and a century. After the IPL, Jaiswal has been impressive in his international debut for India.

  • Trent Boult: New Zealand’s top pacer Trent Boult is now associated with Rajasthan Royals after a long run at the Mumbai Indians camp. Boult has picked 105 wickets in 88 IPL matches and the last 4 seasons have gone quite well for him. Boult is an opening bowler who is likely to do some damage in the powerplay overs.

  • Yuzvendra Chahal: Chahal has an experience of 145 IPL matches in which he has taken 187 wickets. He has picked 21 wickets in the last season and now he is just 13 short of completing 200-wicket mark. Chahal has picked more than 20 wickets each in 2020, 2022 and 2023.

  • Sanju Samson: RR skipper Sanju Samson has accumulated 3888 runs in 152 IPL matches at an average of 29.23. He has performed well in the last 2 seasons along with the duties of captaincy.

Squad changes

RR Squad changes

Take a look at the updated list of retained and released players along with new signings by Rajasthan Royals for the IPL 2024 season.

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players IPL 2024

Abdul Samad, Aiden Markram, Rahul Tripathi, Glenn Phillips, Heinrich Klaasen, Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Upendra Yadav, Nitish Reddy, Shahbaz Ahmed, Abhishek Sharma, Marco Jansen, Washington Sundar, Sanvir Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, Fazahaq Farooqi

Rajasthan Royals Released Players IPL 2024

Harry Brook, Samarth Vyas, Kartik Tyagi, Vivrant Sharma, Akeal Hosein, Adil Rashid

Rajasthan Royals New Signings IPL 2024

Abid Mushtaq, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for RR

Rajasthan has certainly levelled up after last season’s performance. They haven’t made big changes to their squad and have roped in more T20 performers like Adam Zampa. They can certainly reach the playoffs once again.

Can RR Win IPL 2024?

Rajasthan Royals is a strong squad equipped with destructive batters and damaging bowlers but they lack in the all-rounders category which is quite important for this format. They currently have Ravi Ashwin as a designated all-rounder but he is not considered among top all-rounders in this format or in IPL. He has a batting average of 13.22 in 197 IPL matches.

RR needs to find a perfect balance between batting and bowling and all the players need to be in a good touch to be able to score big totals and pick quick wickets.

Table of Content