Bovada USA

Chennai Super Kings Team IPL 2022

Get all information about CSK in IPL 2022 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Chennai Super Kings is a Chennai based IPL franchise which has been part of the league since its inception in 2008. With 4 titles so far, CSK is one of the top teams of the tournament and are currently the reigning champions after defeating KKR in the finals of IPL 2021.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, under whose leadership CSK has won all the 4 trophies has handed over the captaincy to Ravindra Jadeja. CSK consists of some quality T20 players like Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar.

Chennai Super Kings won their fourth IPL title in 2021 and will be looking to equal Mumbai Indians’ record of five titles by winning again in 2022.

Chennai Super Kings Team Information

Full Name Chennai Super Kings
Short Name CSK
Founded 2008
Owners India Cements
Official Website
Captain Ravindra jadeja
Head Coach Stephen Fleming
Home Ground M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Best Performance In IPL Champions (2010,2011,2018,2021)

CSK Team Information

The batting of CSK was a big factor in their success in 2021. Ruturaj Gaikwad hit 635 runs and finished as the leading run scorer in the tournament with South African Faf du Plessis in second place on 633. All-rounders such as Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo and Moeen Ali all contributed large numbers also. Of those five players, only Faf du Plessis is not in the CSK squad for 2022. 

With the ball, Shardul Thakur was their leading wicket-taker last season with Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar and Ravindra Jadeja following up behind. Thakur has signed for Delhi Capitals ahead of this year’s IPL, but CSK have recruited well with New Zealand’s Adam Milne and spinner Mitchell Santner joining alongside England’s T20 veteran Chris Jordan.

MS Dhoni has led the side to all of their IPL triumphs and his leadership skills can never be underestimated. As a result, ruling CSK out of defending the title would be a mistake.

CSK Squad changes

Although CSK have seen the departures of big contributors like Faf du Plessis and Shardul Thakur, they have retained the services of other key players from the 2021 title winning side.

As well as keeping Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad prior to the auction, they then re-signed Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Robin Uthappa and Deepak Chahar.

England international Sam Curran’s all-round skills will be missed but Devon Conway is an excellent batter who will be a very strong addition to the squad. Likewise, Chris Jordan has seen it all in T20 cricket and his experience will be vital to the bowling attack.

CSK Team key players

  • Captain - Ravindra Jadeja: The all-rounder fits perfectly in this CSK team which loves to have a fluent batting order and players who contribute with bat and ball. Last season, the left-hander hit 37 runs from one over off Harshal Patel, the best bowler in the competition. He also chipped in with 13 wickets and an economy rate of 7.06.

  • MS Dhoni: At the age of 40, the keeper-batter shows no signs of losing any of his appetite for success or love for CSK. He scored only 114 runs at an average of 16.28 last season but his influence to this side as a senior player can never be underestimated.

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad: The 25-year-old gave notice of his talent during the 2020 season when he hit three half-centuries and finished with an average of 51 from six matches. But few could have imagined just how successful he would be in 2021. He finished with one century, four half-centuries and the Orange Cap.

  • Moeen Ali: The English all-rounder benefited from the confidence shown in his batting and was a regular in the top order for CSK in 2021. Although he hit only one half-century, Moeen contributed 357 runs including 19 sixes.

IPL 2022 CSK Team Squads

Batsmen Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Devon Conway, Subhranshu Senapati, Chezhian Harinishanth
All Rounders Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Dwayen Bravo, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner
Bowlers Maheesh Theekshana, Prashant Solanki, Bhagath Varma, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh, Adam Milne, Mukesh Choudhary, Chris Jordan
Wicketkeepers MS Dhoni, Robin Uthappa, Narayan Jagadeesan

Chennai Super Kings Retained Players 2022

Ravindra Jadeja Rs 16 Crore, MS Dhoni Rs 12 Crore, Moeen Ali Rs 8 Crore, Ruturaj Gaikwad Rs 6 Crore

Chennai Super Kings Players IPL 2022

Ambati Rayudu Rs 6.75 Crore, Devon Conway Rs 1 Crore, Suhbranshu Senapati Rs 20 Lakh, Chezhian Harinishanth Rs 20 Lakh, Dwayne Bravo Rs 4.4 Crore, Shivam Dube Rs 4 Crore, Rjvardhan Hangargekar Rs 1.5 Crore, Dwaine Pretorius Rs 50 Lakh, Mitchell Santner Rs 1.9 Crore, Robin Uthappa Rs 2 Crore, Narayan Jagadeesan Rs 20 Lakh, Maheesh Theekshana Rs 70 Lakh, Prashant Solanki Rs 1.2 Crore, Bhagath Varma Rs 20 Lakh, Deepak Chahar Rs 14 Crore, KM Asif Rs 20 Lakh, Tushar Deshpande Rs 20 Lakh, Simarjeet Singh Rs 20 Lakh, Adam Milne Rs 1.9 Crore, Mukesh Choudhary Rs 20 Lakh, Chris Jordan Rs 3.6 Crore

Expert Prediction for CSK

We Predict CSK to Finish at Fourth Position

Last season, Chennai managed to bounce back from losing their final three group stage games, to reset and win both games in the play-offs to clinch the title. It is their winning mentality, which will still be there in plenty of their players, which means they will still be contenders.

Their core remains pretty much the same from 2021 and they have added to it with players of the same mould - those who can contribute with bat and ball when under pressure.

Can CSK Win IPL 2022?

The 2021 IPL Champions are 8.00 to win the competition with Betway and 9.00 with Bet365. They are not favourites with either bookmaker but their chances of retaining the trophy should certainly not be written off.

CSK Match Schedule IPL 2022

Date Match Time (IST) Venue
March 26, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
March 31, 2022 Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 3, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 9, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 15:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 12, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 17, 2022 Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 21, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 25, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 1, 2022 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
May 4, 2022 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
May 8, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals 15:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 12, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 15, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans 15:30 Wankhede Stadium