Bovada USA

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2023

Get all information about RCB in IPL 2023 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Royal Challengers Bangalore About Royal Challengers Bangalore Team (RCB)

RCB is owned by United Spirits and it has been part of the IPL since its inaugural season in 2008. Rahul Dravid was the first captain of the side and Virat Kohli has led the team for a long time from 2013 to 2021.

Unfortunately, RCB is one of the teams which has never won an IPL trophy despite having some of the top T20 players.

RCB has reached the finals in the three editions - 2009, 2011 and 2016 but could never win any season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Team Information

Full Name Royal Challengers Bangalore
Short Name RCB
Founded 2008
Owners United Spirits Limited
Official Website
Captain Faf Du Plessis
Head Coach Sanjay Bangar
Home Ground M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
Best Performance In IPL Finalist (2009, 2011, 2016)
Team Information

RCB Team Information

Before the 2021 season, Virat Kohli has announced that he will step down from the captaincy after the season. In the 2022 IPL mega auction, RCB roped in Faf du Plessis and appointed him the captain of the side.

Sanjay Bangar is currently the head coach of RCB and the team will be led by Faf du Plessis once again in the upcoming season.

Squad changes

RCB Squad changes

RCB roped in England batsman Will Jacks and pacer Reece Topley in the auction. Reece Topley made a comeback to the international side in T20Is and impressed everyone with his bowling. Jacks picked up an injury due to which he has been ruled out of the whole IPL season. New Zealand all-rounder Michael Bracewell will replace him in the squad.

Glenn Maxwell will be fit for the IPL after a long break from the game due to injury. Maxwell is a key all-rounder for the team.

All the top performers from the last season are still there and we are expecting Topley to find a place in the playing 11 this season.

RCB team key players

  • Faf du Plessis: The new RCB skipper performed brilliantly with the bat in the last season. He smashed 468 runs in 16 matches at an average of 31.20. Overall du Plessis has scored 3403 runs in 116 IPL matches.

  • Virat Kohli: Virat Kohli has a good batting record in Chinnaswamy Stadium and this year’s season will have 7 home games in Bengaluru. Kohli is expected to be among the top run scorers in this season. Kohli has scored 6624 runs in 223 IPL matches.

  • Rajat Patidar: Patidar impressed everyone with his batting skills in the last season. Patidar smashed 333 runs in 7 innings at an impressive average of 55.50. He also smashed the highest score of the season for RCB when he scored 112 runs.

  • Wanindu Hasaranga: Hasaranga finished the last season as the 2nd highest wicket taker after Yuzvendra Chahal. In 16 matches, Hasaranga picked 26 wickets at an average of 16.53.

  • Josh Hazlewood: The Aussie pacer will be key pacer for the team in the upcoming season. In 24 IPL matches, Hazlewood has picked 32 wickets out of which he took 20 wickets in the last season in 12 matches.

IPL 2023 RCB Team Squad

Batsmen Virat Kohli, Suyash Prabhudessai, Faf du Plessis, Rajat Patidar
All Rounders Glenn Maxwell, David Willey, Mahipal Lomror, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Michael Bracewell, Manoj Bhandage, R Sonu Yadav
Bowlers Mohammed Siraj, Karn Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Josh Hazlewood, Harshal Patel, Akash Deep, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Avinash Singh
Wicket-keepers Anuj Rawat, Finn Allen, Dinesh Karthik

Royal Challengers Bangalore Retained Players IPL 2023

RCB finished the last season in the playoffs which they entered for the 4th year in a row but the dream of lifting the IPL trophy is yet to be achieved. RCB comes up with new dynamics almost every year.

Faf du Plessis was signed and appointed as the captain of the side after Virat Kohli stepped down from the leadership duties. The team did well under Faf and the management decided to retain a large chunk of players from the last year’s team.

RCB Retained Players Final List IPL 2023

Akash Deep, Anuj Rawat, David Willey, Dinesh Karthik, Faf Du Plessis, Finn Allen, Glenn Maxwell, Harshal Patel, Josh Hazlewood, Karn Sharma, Mahipal Lomror, Mohammed Siraj, Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahamad, Siddharth Kaul, Suyash Prabhudessai, Virat Kohli, Wanindu Hasaranga

Royal Challengers Bangalore Released Players IPL 2023

Aneeshwar Gautam, Chama Milind, Luvnith Sisodia, Sherfane Rutherford

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for RCB

RCB has a strong squad and Reece Topley will strengthen the bowling line-up. If the players are in form then we can expect RCB to be in the playoffs.

Can RCB Win IPL 2023?

RCB can certainly go into the playoffs with their strong batting line-up. Lifting their first IPL trophy still looks like a dream for RCB as they have been choking in the playoffs every time they are there. There are less chances for RCB to win IPL 2023.

If you want to bet on RCB to win the IPL 2023 trophy then Betway is offering 7.00 and Bet365 is offering slightly generous 7.50 odds for RCB.

RCB Match Schedule IPL 2023

Date Match Venue Time
Apr 02, 2023 Sun Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians, 5th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 06, 2023 Thu Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 9th Match Eden Gardens, Kolkata 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 10, 2023 Mon Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Lucknow Super Giants, 15th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 15, 2023 Sat Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals, 20th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 10:00 AM GMT / 03:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 17, 2023 Mon Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings, 24th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 20, 2023 Thu Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 27th Match Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 10:00 AM GMT / 03:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 23, 2023 Sun Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 32nd Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 10:00 AM GMT / 03:30 PM LOCAL
Apr 26, 2023 Wed Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 36th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
May 01, 2023 Mon Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 43rd Match Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
May 06, 2023 Sat Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 50th Match Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
May 09, 2023 Tue Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 54th Match Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
May 14, 2023 Sun Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 60th Match Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 10:00 AM GMT / 03:30 PM LOCAL
May 18, 2023 Thu Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 65th Match Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
May 21, 2023 Sun Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Titans, 70th Match M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 02:00 PM GMT / 07:30 PM LOCAL
Table of Content

Apr 01, 2023 - Upcoming/Today's Match Prediction

RCB vs MI IPL 2023 Match Prediction & Live Odds

Apr 02, 2023 | 19:30:00, GMT +5:30

M Chinnaswamy Stadium - Bengaluru, India