1. Cricketbetting.net
  2. News
  3. ACC likely to announce Asia Cup 2022 schedule on July 22

ACC likely to announce Asia Cup 2022 schedule on July 22

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup is set to take place from August 27 - September 11, T20 format will be followed in this years edition

Posted Date: Jul 18, 2022

Posted By: Joy

ACC likely to announce Asia Cup 2022 schedule on July 22
ACC likely to announce Asia Cup 2022 schedule on July 22

Asia Cup 2022

The much-awaited Asia Cup 2022 is expected to take place this year after missing out for 2 years in a row. The tournament was earlier scheduled to take place in 2020 but it was postponed due to some reasons. The Asia Cup 2022 is set to commence on August 27 and the final is scheduled to take place on September 11.

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) is likely to announce the full schedule for the Asia Cup 2022 on July 22. The much-anticipated India vs Pakistan clash is likely to take place on August 28 but it will be confirmed once the schedule is released.

Asia Cup 2022 Format

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be played in the T20 format. This will be the 2nd time that the tournament will be played in this shorter format rather than usual 50-over matches. The last time the Asia Cup followed the T20 format was in 2016 when India clinched the trophy by beating Bangladesh in the final match.

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule

The full-fixture for the Asia Cup 2022 is yet to be announced. According to some reports, ACC will announce the schedule on July 22 and there are chances of not one but two India vs Pakistan matches in the league stage. We will update the schedule as soon as it is announced by the council.

Asia Cup 2022 Venue

The venue for the 15th Asia Cup saw a lot of changes. It was announced that Pakistan can host the tournament but that raised questions over India’s participation in the tournament due to political turmoil between the two countries.

After which Sri Lanka got the green light to host the prestigious ICC tournament. So far, Sri Lanka is hosting the Asia Cup 2022 this year but due to the on-going civil unrest in the island nation, there are speculations that the ACC will try to switch the venue from Sri Lanka to UAE (United Arab Emirates).

The last edition of the Asia Cup also took place in UAE and the final between India and Bangladesh was scheduled at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Asia Cup 2022 Teams and Winners-list

The Asia Cup 2022 will feature 6 teams. The first 5 teams will be India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The 6th team will be decided from the Asia Cup Qualifiers which will take place in a few weeks.

Among the teams, India is the most successful team winning 7 titles followed by Sri Lanka which has won 5 times. Pakistan has lifted the trophy 2 times.

India is the reigning champion by winning the last edition of Asia Cup in 2018 where they beat Bangladesh in the final match to lift their 7th Asia Cup trophy.

Asia Cup Winners List

Year Winner Runner-Up
1984 India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan
1988 India  Sri Lanka
1990/91 India Sri Lanka
1995 India Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka India
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka
2004 Sri Lanka India
2008 Sri Lanka India
2010 India Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan
2016 India Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh