Bovada USA

Punjab Kings Team IPL 2022

Get all information about PBKS in IPL 2022 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

Punjab Kings Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Punjab Kings is a Punjab based IPL franchise cricket team which has its headquarters in Mohali. It was earlier called Kings XI Punjab till the 2020 season. In the 2021 edition, they changed the name and jersey.

After the 2021 season, the skipper KL Rahul departed from the team to join another franchise.

Kings’ newly appointed captain Mayank Agarwal and pacer Arshdeep Singh were the only 2 players retained by the team and they have totally revamped look for the new season with the signings of some of the best T20 players like Shikhar Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Liam Livingstone, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jonny Bairstow. Punjab has reached the final of IPL only once in the 2014 edition and they will be looking to push the limits with this squad this season.

Punjab Kings have contested every IPL but have only finished in the top three in 2008 and 2014. They ended 2021 in sixth position for the third successive season.

Punjab Kings Team Information

Full Name Punjab Kings
Short Name PBKS
Founded 2008
Owners Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul
Official Website
Captain Mayank Aggarwal
Head Coach Anil Kumble
Home Ground IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Best Performance In IPL Finalist (2014)
Team Information

PBKS Team Information

Anil Kumble will coach the team with Mayank Agarwal the new captain in place of the departed KL Rahul.

Agarwal averaged 40.09 last season but apart from him and Rahul, scoring consistent runs for Punjab Kings was a real problem.

After retaining only two players ahead of the auction, it certainly feels like Punjab Kings are moving into a new era.

Squad changes

PBKS Squad changes

Skipper Mayank Agarwal and 23-year old left-arm pace bowler Arshdeep Singh were the only two retentions from the 2021 squad.

Chirs Gayle, Dawid Malan and Aiden Markram have been replaced by Sri Lanka’s Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Shikhar Dhawan from Delhi Capitals in the batting departement.

Two new English arrivals in Liam Livingstone and Jonny Bairstow will both be charged with contributing not just runs in the tournament. Kagiso Rabada, signed from Delhi Capitals, will lead the bowling attack.

PBKS team key players

  • Captain Mayank Agarwal: The 31-year old will lead the side as he looks to make it three successive seasons with 400+ IPL runs. His top score last season was 99 not-out from 58 balls against Delhi Capitals.

  • Shikhar Dhawan: Over the history of the IPL, no player has scored more fours than the 654 hit by Dhawan. He is an excellent signing for Punjab Kings and has hit between 479 and 618 runs in every season from 2016 - 2021.

  • Liam Livingstone: The English all-rounder had a brief taste of the IPL with Rajasthan Royals last season but ended 2021 as one of the hottest properties in short format cricket. He is now an established player in England’s IT20 side and is widely recognised as one of the most powerful batters in world cricket

  • Kagiso Rabada: The South African pace bowler had taken 55 wickets across the 2019 and 2020 IPL seasons, so his return of only 15 wickets in 2021 was a below-par return. He will benefit from a fresh start with Punjab Kings.

Ipl 2022 Punjab Kings Team Squad

Batsmen Mayank Agarwal. Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Shikhar Dhawan
All Rounders Liam Livingstone, Shahrukh Khan, Rishi Dhawan, Ansh Patel, Benny Howell, Harpreet Brar, Odean Smith, Raj Bawa, Writtick Chatterjee, Prerek Mankad, Atharva Taide
Bowlers Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Ishan Porel, Sandeep Sharma, Vaibhav Arora, Nathan Ellis, Baltej Singh
Wicket-keepers Prabhsimran Singh, Jonny Bairstow, Jitesh Sharma

Punjab Kings Retained Players 2022

Mayank Agarwal Rs 12 Crore, Arshdeep Singh Rs 4 Crore

Punjab Kings Players IPL 2022

Bhanuka Rajapaksa Rs 50 Lakh, Shikhar Dhawan Rs 8.25 Crore, Liam Livingstone Rs 11.5 Crore, Shahrukh Khan Rs 9 Crore, Rishi Dhawan Rs 55 Lakh, Ansh Patel Rs 20 Lakh, Benny Howell Rs 40 Lakh, Harpreet Brar Rs 3.8 Crore, Odean Smith Rs 6 Crore, Raj Bawa Rs 2 Crore, Writtick Chatterjee Rs 20 Lakh, Prerak Mankad Rs 20 Lakh, Atharva Taide Rs 20 Lakh, Prabhsimran Singh Rs 60 Lakh, Jonny Bairstow Rs 6.75 Crore, Jitesh Sharma Rs 20 Lakh, Kagiso Rabada Rs 9.25 Crore, Rahul Chahar Rs 5.25 Crore, Ishan Porel Rs 25 Lakh, Sandeep Sharma Rs 50 Lakh, Vaibhav Arora Rs 2 Crore, Nathan Eliis Rs 75 Lakh, Baltej Singh Rs 20 Lakh

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for PBKS

We Predict PBKS to Finish at Third Position

With excellent new signings in all departments, Punjab Kings supporters will have plenty of optimism ahead of this season.

Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow and Liam Livingstone are all potential match-winners and we would not be surprised to see Punjab Kings enjoy their best ever IPL season in 2022.

Can PBKS Win IPL 2022?

The bookies clearly agree that this new-look Punjab Kings side will be challenging at the right end of the table this year. Both Betway and Bet365 offer odds of 6.50 for a first title for Punjab Kings in 2022.

PBKS Match Schedule IPL 2022

Date Match Time (IST) Venue
March 27, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
April 1, 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
April 3, 2022 Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 8, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Gujarat Titans 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 13, 2022 Mumbai Indians vs Punjab Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 17, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 15:30 Brabourne – CCI
April 20, 2022 Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
April 25, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings 19:30 Wankhede Stadium
April 29, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants 19:30 MCA Stadium, Pune
May 3, 2022 Gujarat Titans vs Punjab Kings 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 7, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals 15:30 Wankhede Stadium
May 13, 2022 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings 19:30 Brabourne – CCI
May 16, 2022 Punjab Kings vs Delhi Capitals 19:30 DY Patil Stadium
May 22, 2022 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings 19:30 Wankhede Stadium