Bovada USA

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Retained Players List, Auction, Squad, Schedule, Venue IPL 2023

Get all information about KKR in IPL 2023 including complete squad, players list, matches schedule, latest news and predictions.

About Kolkata Knight Riders Team (KKR)

Kolkata Knight Riders have won 2 IPL titles in 2012 and 2014 and both came under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, who is currently the mentor of Lucknow Super Giants.

They reached the final in the 2021 season but lost to CSK. Batsman Nitish Rana will lead the KKR side in the absence of Shreyas Iyer who will miss the season due to injury. KKR performed decently in the last season, missed the playoff qualification by a small margin.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Information

Full Name Kolkata Knight Riders
Short Name KKR
Founded 2008
Owners Red Chillies Entertainment (55%), Mehta Group (45%)
Official Website
Captain Nitish Rana
Head Coach Chandrakant Pandit
Home Ground Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Best Performance In IPL Champions(2012, 2014)
Team Information

KKR Team Information

After the last season, former KKR coach Brendon McCullum was appointed as the England Test team coach and Chandrakant Pandit replaced him in August. Nitish Rana and Chandrakant Pandit’s partnership will certainly bring in a new approach in the KKR’s gameplay.

KKR will begin this year’s campaign against Punjab Kings on 1st April at PCA Stadium in Mohali.

Squad changes

KKR Squad changes

KKR has released Pat Cummins, Alex Hales, Mohammad Nabi and many more after the last season. Cummins was released due to his non-availability for the season as he has a hectic schedule this year due to ICC World Cup and Ashes.

Among the retention list, you will find some of the KKR’s key players like Shreyas Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana. Both the West Indies players Russell and Narine are associated with the team from a long time.

In the auction, KKR bought Shakib Al Hasan, David Wiese and Litton Das among the overseas players. This will be Das’ first ever IPL outing and he has been quite impressive in the T20 format as a top-order batsman.

KKR team key players

  • Andre Russell: Andre Russell has been a key player for KKR side from the time he has joined the franchise. Russell is 2 matches away from completing 100 matches in the IPL. He has smashed 2035 runs so far and picked 89 wickets.

  • Nitish Rana: Nitish Rana plays a power hitter role in this team. He is capable of turning the match around with his strike rate of 134.22 in 91 matches. He is a crucial batsman in the middle-order. Rana has scored 2181 runs so far in the IPL.

  • Shakib Al Hasan: Shakib Al Hasan is currently the No.1 all-rounder in the ICC T20I rankings. He has been in good form lately and is expected to be an effective all-rounder for the KKR team. He has played 71 IPL matches in which he has scored 793 runs and picked 63 wickets.

  • Tim Southee: The New Zealand pacer has a good record on Indian pitches and he will be the key pacer for the KKR team after Pat Cummins was released. Southee has played 52 IPL matches in which he has taken 45 wickets.

  • Shardul Thakur: Shardul Thakur has been improving his game in all aspects. He wants to be a reliable all-rounder for which he has to work on his batting as well. He has spent a lot of time in the CSK team but now KKR wants his services.

IPL 2023 KKR Team Squad

Batsmen Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Mandeep Singh
All Rounders Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Anukul Roy, David Wiese, Shakib Al Hasan
Bowlers Varun Chakravarty, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Suyash Sharma, Kulwant Khejroliya
Wicket-keepers Rahmanullah Gurbaz, N. Jagadeesan, Litton Das

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players IPL 2023

KKR had an average season in the IPL 2022. They appointed Shreyas Iyer as the captain who had a decent season but overall the team couldn’t proceed to the playoffs. They finished at the 7th spot with 6 wins out of 14 matches.

We will see a big transition in the KKR side as the team has released some big names like Aaron Finch, Pat Cummins, Alex Hales, Sam Billings and Mohammad Nabi.

KKR has traded in Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Lockie Ferguson from Gujarat Titans and Shardul Thakur from Delhi Capitals for the upcoming season.

They had to release the Aussie pacer Pat Cummins as he made himself unavailable for the next season due to his hectic international schedule.

KKR Retained Players Final List IPL 2023

Andre Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, Lockie Ferguson (T), Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (T), Rinku Singh, Shardul Thakur (T), Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer

Kolkata Knight Riders Released Players IPL 2023

Aaron Finch, Abhijeet Tomar, Ajinkya Rahane, Alex Hales, Ashok Sharma, Baba Indrajith, Chamika Karunaratne, Mohammad  Nabi, Pat Cummins, Pratham Singh, Ramesh Kumar, Rasikh Dar, Sam Billings, Sheldon Jackson, Shivam Mavi

Expert Prediction

Expert Prediction for KKR

KKR has a good bowling line-up but we are a little sceptical about the batting department. There aren’t many reliable batters in this side. The whole batting line-up is dependent on one or two experienced batters and some all-rounders like Shakib and Russell.

It is going to be a little difficult for the KKR side to qualify for the playoffs. With a new coach and new gameplay, they might be able to reach the playoffs but that is going to be a tough road keeping the other squads in mind.

Can KKR Win IPL 2023?

Seeing their squad and some imbalance in the team combinations, we cannot expect a title win for KKR in the 2023 season.

KKR Match Schedule IPL 2023

Date Match Time (IST) Venue
01 April 2023 Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders 3:30 PM Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
06 April 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
09 April 2023 Gujarat Titans vs Kolkata Knight Riders 3:30 PM Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
14 April 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
16 April 2023 Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders 3:30 PM Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
20 April 2023 Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders 7:30 PM Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
23 April 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
26 April 2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders 7:30 PM M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
29 April 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Gujarat Titans 3:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
04 May 2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders 7:30 PM Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
08 May 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
11 May 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata
14 May 2023 Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders 7:30 PM MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
20 May 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Lucknow Super Giants 7:30 PM Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Kolkata Knight Riders - Frequently Asked Questions

  • Who is the coach of the Kolkata Knight Riders?

  • Who owns Kolkata Knight Riders?

  • How many times Kolkata Knight Riders won IPL?

  • Who is the IPL winner captain of IPL?

    IPL won both the 2012 and 2014 seasons under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir who is currently the head coach of the Lucknow Super Giants team.

Table of Content

Apr 01, 2023 - Upcoming/Today's Match Prediction

PBKS vs KKR IPL 2023 Match Prediction & Live Odds

Apr 01, 2023 | 15:30:00, GMT +5:30

Punjab Cricket Association stadium - Mohali, India