Bovada USA

Caribbean Premier League 2016

Cricket meets entertainment in this sumptuous cocktail of local and international talent, featuring six Caribbean franchises and over a month-long T20 action, starting from 29th June till 7th August 2016.

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) returns for its fourth season this year, with the first match to be played on June 29 at the Queen's Park Oval. The final will be played on August 7 and the venue for it is yet to be decided.

Six teams will be competing in this CPL 2016 which is divided into two stages - group stage and knockout stage. Each team will have its own home ground and will play ten games in the group stage. The top four teams will advance to the knockout stage which includes three playoffs and a final. Playoff 1 will be played between the top two teams and playoff 2 between the third and the fourth positioned team. Playoff 3 will feature the loser of playoff 1 take on the winner of playoff 2. The winner of this match will face the winner of playoff 1 in the final.

Read on to find out the six participating teams and their performances in the previous editions…..

Barbados Tridents

They reached the semi-finals of the inaugural edition in 2013, finished as winners in 2014 and were the runners-up last year in 2015. AB de Villiers has been recruited for this season and he is going to be their marquee player.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Formerly known as Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel, they reached the semi-finals in 2013 and 2014 and went on to lift the trophy in 2015. The defending champions will be featuring some big names this year like Hashim Amla, Sunil Narine and Dwayne Bravo.

Jamaica Tallawahs

They are the winners of the first edition in 2013 and the semi-finalists of the following two seasons. Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Kumar Sangakkara and Dale Steyn are going to be the key players for them this year.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

They finished as runners-up in the first two editions in 2013 and 2014 and reached the semi-finals last year in 2015. Their skipper Martin Guptill, Adam Zampa and Dwayne Smith will be the players to watch out for.

St Lucia Zouks

They have never made it to the knockout stage since the inception of the CPL tournament in 2013. With reputed international players like Johnson Charles, Shane Watson and Morne Morkel, they will be seeking their first ever spot in the playoffs this year.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

They are the most recent addition to the CPL who featured in the tournament for the first time in 2015 but could not go past the league stage. Skipper Faf du Plessis, Carlos Brathwaite and Lendl Simmons will be the key players for them.

Who Will Win the CPL 2016?

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots are a new team and have the least experience of playing in the CPL tournament. St Lucia Zouks have played in all the previous three editions, but have never qualified for the knockout stage. Though these teams feature good international talent, we don't expect them to make the cut this year as well.

So Jamaica Tallawahs, Trinbago Knight Riders, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents are most likely to qualify for the playoffs this season. The Tridents won the title back in 2014 and they have been the most consistent of all the teams. Majority of their players are from West Indies and they strike a good balance between batting and bowling. 

Considering their strong team composition and past achievements, we're predicting the Kieron Pollard-led Barbados Tridents to become the winners of the Caribbean Premier League 2016.

Best Cricket Betting sites for CPL 2024

#ad. 18+. Gamble Responsibly.
Up to $250

Welcome Bonus

Visit SiteRead Review
Up To $1000

Welcome Bonus

Visit SiteRead Review
Up to $750

Welcome Bonus

Visit SiteRead Review
50% Up to $1000

Welcome Bonus

Visit SiteRead Review
Everygame USA