1. Cricketbetting.net
  2. News
  3. Which Stadium Will Host IPL 2023?

Which Stadium Will Host IPL 2023?

PBKS and RR will have two home grounds while rest of the teams will have a single home ground in the upcoming 16th edition of the IPL

Posted Date: Mar 21, 2023

Posted By: Joy

Which Stadium Will Host IPL 2023?
Which Stadium Will Host IPL 2023?

Cricket’s biggest T20 league - Indian Premier League is back for its 16th edition which is set to kick-off on the 31st March, 2023. A total of 74 matches will take place over the period of 52 days in the IPL 2023. 10 teams will battle it out for the prestigious IPL trophy and the competition is going to be stiff as the squads are more beefed up after the December auction.

In which Stadium IPL 2023 will be held?

IPL 2023 will bring back the home-away format which was last used in the 2019 season. Current champions Gujarat Titans will take on Chennai Super Kings in the opening match of the IPL 2023. The match will take place at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which will serve as GT’s homeground.

IPL 2023 Stadiums - Full Details

This year’s IPL will see the return of the home-away format and 12 venues have been finalized to host the 74 matches this season. Two homegrounds have been given to Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals while the rest of the teams will have a single homeground.

Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati will make its debut in the IPL this season. Rajasthan Royals will play its first two home matches at this venue. HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala will make a comeback to the league after a gap of 10 years. Punjab Kings will play the last two home games in Dharamsala in the month of May.

Detailed list of all the 12 cricket stadiums for the IPL 2023

Here is the complete list of all the IPL 2023 venues which will feature in the upcoming season 16 of the Indian Premier League.

Venue Established Capacity Home Team
Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad 1982 132,000 Gujarat Titans
Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali 1993 30,000 Punjab Kings
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow 2017 50,000 Lucknow Super Giants
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad 2004 38,000 Sunrisers Hyderabad
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 1969 40,000 Royal Challengers Bangalore
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai (Chepauk) 1916 50,000 Chennai Super Kings
Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi 1883 48,000 Delhi Capitals
Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati 2017 50,000 Rajasthan Royals
Eden Gardens, Kolkata  1864 63,000 Kolkata Knight Riders
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 1974 33,000 Mumbai Indians
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur 2006 30,000 Rajasthan Royals
Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala 2003 23,000 Punjab Kings