BPL Predictions

BPL Predictions

Seven star-studded Bangladeshi franchises compete in the most popular Twenty20 cricket tournament of nation, starting November 8 till December 9, 2016.

BPL Predictions

The Bangladesh Premier League returns for its fourth season and is scheduled to run between November 4 and December 9, 2016. The tournament will feature seven franchises this year with the introduction of two new teams - Rajshahi Kings and Khulna Titans. The league stage comprises 42 matches in all and will be played in a double round-robin format with each team playing every other team twice. The top four teams in the standings will advance to the playoffs consisting of two qualifiers, one eliminator and a final. Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur will be hosting majority of the games including the playoffs and the final while the rest will be hosted by Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong.

Read on for team previews, betting odds, betting tips and prediction for BPL 2016-17….

Barisal Bulls

The team will be seeking their first title win this year under the leadership of Mushfiqur Rahim. They came runners-up in the inaugural edition of 2012 as well as last year. Key players include Mahedi Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera, Al-Amin Hossain and Carlos Brathwaite.
Betting odds for Barisal Bulls at betfair: 1.04

Chittagong Vikings

They too have not won the tournament before. Captained by Tamim Iqbal, the team looks strong on paper with the likes of Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Shoaib Malik and Taskin Ahmed. Their best performance came in 2013 when they finished runners-up.
Betting odds for Chittagong Vikings at betfair: 1.04

Comilla Victorians

They played their first season last year and went on to lift the trophy under the captaincy of Mashrafe Mortaza. The team will be led by the same man this year as well and will look to bag their second title in a row. Mashrafe Mortaza, Jason Holder, Sohail Tanvir and Imad Wasim will be the key players.
Betting odds for Comilla Victorians at betfair: 4

Dhaka Dynamites

They have been the most successful of all the teams so far with title wins in the first two seasons. Shakib Al Hasan will be leading the side this year and apart from him, Kumar Sangakkara, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Mahela Jayawardene will be the players to watch out for.
Betting odds for Dhaka Dynamites at betfair: 2.5

Khulna Titans

They did not participate last season and finished seventh and fourth respectively in the two seasons before the last. Mahmudullah Riyad will be leading the team this year and key players include the skipper himself, Lendl Simmons, Andre Fletcher and Junaid Khan.
Betting odds for Khulna Titans at betfair: 1.07

Rajshahi Kings

They featured in the first two editions under the name of Duronto Rajshahi and managed to qualify for the playoffs on both the occasions. They, however, did not play last year. Skipper Darren Sammy, Umar Akmal, Mominul Haque and Sabbir Rahman will form an important part of the side.
Betting odds for Rajshahi Kings at betfair: 1.04

Rangpur Riders

Shahid Afridi is set to lead the team who played their first season in the 2013 edition. They finished fifth in that edition and qualified for the playoffs last year. Shahid Afridi, Babar Azam, Rubel Hossain and Sharjeel Khan are going to be the key players.
Betting odds for Rangpur Riders at betfair: 1.04

Who Will Win the BPL 2016-17?

Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings did not play last year and they will be coming with a new team composition. Rangpur Riders did finish third last year before being knocked out in the playoffs, but the names they have on their roster for this year do not instill much confidence. So it may not be worth betting on any of these sides. 

The ones who we feel could make it to the playoffs round are Barisal Bulls, Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians and Dhaka Dynamites. Though Comilla Victorians are a relatively new addition to the tournament, but the way the reigning champions played last year makes us feel they will go a long way this year as well. Dhaka Dynamites have won 22 out of their 37 matches they have played since 2012 - a win percentage of 59.46. No other team has won the tournament twice and therefore, we predict them to win their third title this year.

Cricketbetting Recommends: Bet on Dhaka Dynamites with betfair at best odds of 2.5 to win the Bangladesh Premier League 2016-17.

Upcoming BPL 2016 Matches Previews